Basic cabinet 90 degree joint. New ideas from you. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 08-21-2020, 07:41 AM Thread Starter

View woodklo's Photo Album My Photos
Basic cabinet 90 degree joint. New ideas from you.

Hi all!
I'm a casual and hobby woodworker. I have limited knowladge, limited tools and limited intelegence, especially when it comes to engineering.
For all my woodworking time I have been making cabinets with joints in the most simple way - puzzle joint. I put both planks where they would joint and then draw lines and Xs what I should cut out. Then I did that on my table saw using sled.

Now I'm looking for alternative, yet still strong joint + glue options.
I was thinking I would make a better box joint jig (but on bigger cabinets it's hard for me to trust this.

I have an OK table saw, hand router (no router table). Jigs: tablesaw sled, jointing sled and that's about it.

Any ideas welcomed. Thanks!

Basic puzzle joint in attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2020-08-20 14.06.42.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	360.7 KB
ID:	394151  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 08-21-2020, 08:11 AM
Ole Woodworker

View BigJim's Photo Album My Photos
I don't see the details of the joint in the photo. Any end shots of detail?

http://www.diychatroom.com/

BigJim

Anything is possible IF you don't know what you are talking about.
post #3 of 26 Old 08-21-2020, 09:38 AM Thread Starter

Hmmm. On the bottom line of the photo, if you look closely, you can see the differiating grain patterns where the joint is.
It's basically a finger joints, with big fingers. I'm not really good with terminology... I like to call it puzzle joint.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 26 Old 08-21-2020, 09:41 AM Thread Starter

Like this...
Attached Thumbnails

Name:	asdasd.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	363.3 KB
ID:	394153  

BigJim likes this.
post #5 of 26 Old 08-21-2020, 11:50 AM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos