Bar rail - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 12-15-2014, 04:47 AM Thread Starter

View tmaher1961's Photo Album My Photos
Bar rail

I am attempting to redo a bar rail in a commercial establishment. I am by no means a wood expert so any help here would be appreciated.

The situation i have is as follows...the bottom layer of the bar surface is regular plywood. This portion sticks out by approximately 4" from the rest of the bar to create a rail on the inside of the bar. Currently there is a piece of molding(I believe it is 1/4" x 3/4" Oak lattice molding) that is attached to the inside edge of the plywood. At this time it is attached using some small nails or brads. What I want to do is replace what is there and use not only brads/nails but some type of glue or adhesive to create a good seal so that the joint will not deteriorate over time from the abuse of liquids(water, juices, alcohol). Any suggestions on how to approach this project?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-15-2014, 09:18 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Your really not giving us enough info to go on. Can you post a picture of what is there now? Probably the lattice molding that is there now is glued on so that would involve cutting it off. If it is glued to plywood you would end up tearing the veneer off the plywood if you tried to pry it off. Then to apply another piece if there is glue there a wood glue wouldn't adhere to the old glue. It would be necessary to put a new piece on with an epoxy glue.
post #3 of 6 Old 12-15-2014, 09:46 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Steve is right