another beginner's questions on joining - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 10 Old 02-18-2020, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
Mo

View Moshe Kwart's Photo Album My Photos
another beginner's questions on joining

I am new to this and would appreciate some advice. I am starting to plan a coffee table probably out of oak. The table size being about 63x115cm (approx. 25x45 inches). I have not looked for the wood yet, but imagine making the top out of 2x6 inch boards 45 inches long glued together. My guess is that the table top will be 5 boards wide before trimming.
1) Can I just surface the edges of the boards, glue and clamp? Will that be strong enough or should I learn to dowel the boards together or pocket screws and glue or other? I have not thought out the design of the base yet, but I can plan it with crosswise supports.
2) Surfacing the edges: I do not have a table saw. My thoughts are to surface both edges of each board on a router table. I don't know that I can get both edges of a single board perfectly parallel with only a router table, but I don't think that it's a problem for a table top of the same wood that is not contoured with anything else.
I plan to buy a Kreg Accu Cut guide track for my circular saw, but will be surprised if this will help here.
So in short, you have a beginner here with beginner's language and a little bit of experience. Your shared wisdom will be so appreciated.
Best,
Mo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-18-2020, 08:41 PM

View B Coll's Photo Album My Photos