Advice with unstable knots - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 02-10-2014, 05:40 PM Thread Starter

View Broomberg's Photo Album My Photos
Advice with unstable knots

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking around for a while now soaking up the vast knowledge on the site, but now I'm hoping someone much wiser than me can give me some advice with some strange knots in a book-matched set of English (well, Scottish) elm I'm working with....

I'm relatively new to joinery, having previously only ever made small items as a wood carver, but I've now just begun building a coffee table from two beautiful book-matched waney edge boards. However, you'll see from the attached that there are some light coloured knots (unlike others in the boards) in both boards which feel very unstable to the touch (i.e they move loose within the board) and the wood itself seems to be branch wood - soft and porous.

What do people reckon is the best way to deal with these? Asteheticly I've thought about staining them slightly darker to match others in the boards, or perhaps even taking the drastic step of removing them and filling?

I've attached some pictures of the joined boards, any suggestions or helpful tips would be very welcome!

http://imgur.com/DreM4QE
http://imgur.com/CpAqWVO
http://imgur.com/uWmPQPU
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-10-2014, 06:07 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
Unless you plan to paint the table, leave them as the features that they are. Trees grow but never perfectly.

Loose knots: I sealed the underside with masking tape. Over weeks, I gradually filled the gaps with plain old carpenter's glue. This was a piece of pine, three knots of 1.5" and bigger. The next step
was to rip that piece in half for the adjacent frame edges of a pair of cupboard (glass) doors.
Worked like an absolute dream. The cut went right down the middles of all three knots and nothing moved at all.
post #3 of 11 Old 02-10-2014, 07:43 PM