45 degree miter joints with table saw + sled -- struggling! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 08-03-2011, 08:08 AM Thread Starter

View adosch's Photo Album My Photos
45 degree miter joints with table saw + sled -- struggling!

Hello, new to the forum. I'm a hobbyist wood worker on the evenings and weekends. I've always taken a liking to making and building small projects (chess/checker boards, wood and puzzle games as of late) or repairing the deck, or something on a larger scale. I don't consider myself an expert, but I have plenty of material I reference (Woodsmith, Wood mags and the 'internet' of course) to keep me on track if need be.

However, I'm at a particular stopping point on a project and it's with a joinery skill that I've always struggled with: 45 degree miter/bevel cuts.

I only own a table saw (lower end, Skill 10"), so I've really taken a liking to using cross-cut sleds, so it was a no-brainer to me to make some sort of common jig you see everywhere. I've tried two methods that have just failed for me and I can't figure out how to remedy it and be successful (and accurate, to boot)

Method 1: I have a cross-cut sled for 90 degree cuts (kerf down the middle) and I've taken a 45 degree right triangle and going off the blade. I'll screw in a wood guide/fence at the 45 degree angle to the blade.

Method 2: I recently built another cross-cut sled, but this time I used my Wixey digital angle gauge, set the blade to 45.0 (with a tenth of accuracy) angle and tried cuts that way with a stop block, ect. (pictured)

Both methods seem to be what everyone else does, yet I can't get true 45 degree cuts. Sometimes the angles are slightly acute, some obtuse.

I wonder if it's: wobble in my blade, not having enough weight for my table saw (which is on it's own collapsible stand) to cut out more vibration, or just me? I really don't know anymore and it's plain frustrating.

Any tips of suggestions are welcome.
Attached Thumbnails