New to carving. Advice welcomed - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 02-04-2015, 02:48 PM Thread Starter

View Korosu's Photo Album My Photos
New to carving. Advice welcomed

Hi all. I'm very new to carving but it's always something thats intrigued me. So, looking for some guidance here, what's easy to carve out of blocks of 1"X1" (basically pen blanks and I'm working on getting bigger pieces)? I'm working currently on carving a boat. Went to hollow it out though and got myself with the gouge unfortunately. But nothing a band aid couldn't fix.

Also any tips that someone has would be greatly appreciated. Not looking to make a living. Just doing it for fun.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-04-2015, 02:57 PM Thread Starter

Also I noticed a lot of people cutting the majority away with a band saw. Unfortunately I have no access to power tools. Just the hand saw, chisels, and hand drill.
post #3 of 11 Old 02-04-2015, 04:02 PM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
For safety, you need a woodworking vice to hold your work while carving. At least clamp the boat to the table while you hollow it out. Can you post some pictures?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 02-04-2015, 07:52 PM
Village Idiot

View epicfail48's Photo Album My Photos
I think basswood is one of the ones ive heard most recommended. Supposed to be pretty soft for a hardwood, machines well ive been told

I need cheaper hobby
etsy.com/shop/projectepicfail
post #5 of 11 Old 02-05-2015, 08:31 AM Thread Starter

I should be able to find basswood at Home Depot right?
post #6 of 11 Old 02-05-2015, 09:37 AM

View Woodenhorse's Photo Album My Photos