How are these corbels made? What tools were used? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 5Likes
  • 1 Post By 35015
  • 2 Post By DixieBonsai
  • 2 Post By DixieBonsai

post #1 of 12 Old 03-23-2017, 09:29 AM Thread Starter

View DixieBonsai's Photo Album My Photos
How are these corbels made? What tools were used?

I am a very amateur woodworker.I am hoping to build a rustic farm table out of hand hewn barn beams I have, from a barn my kind neighbor let me take down.I noticed these mantles on eBay and the Corbels caught my eye.I would like to shape the heavy beam feet of this table like these corbels.What tools do you think they used? I can tell it was probably rough cut out on a bandsaw but I see other tool marks that give it a hand hewn look on the outer edge.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-23-2017, 09:41 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
For the most part they were cut with a bandsaw. Then to remove the saw marks they went over it with a large gouge with about a #2 sweep. Something like this in about 1" width. http://www.grizzly.com/products/Stra...ce=grizzly.com I'm sure there are much cheaper ones on ebay.
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
DixieBonsai (03-23-2017)
post #3 of 12 Old 03-23-2017, 10:05 AM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
they are separate pieces

They are not sawn from one beam, but are made using a bandsaw.
The handhewn look is only on the beam, not on the corbels. The handhewn marks are original from the old beams, not added afterward.

If you have a bandsaw you can make them quite easily, as you stated, from the beams you have. If you don't have a bandsaw or access to one, it will be difficult to make them using other means because of the thickness of the wood, about 5" or 6" .... guessing. If you are seriously getting into making these tables, a bandsaw would be a very good investment.