Best way to shape a large rounded corner - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 03-19-2018, 10:55 AM Thread Starter

View steve4king's Photo Album My Photos
Best way to shape a large rounded corner

Hello experts!

I'd start by saying that I'm a novice woodworker, but that may be giving myself too much credit.

I'm building a bed and want to create rounded corners that measure 8" tall, 0.75" thick, with a radius of 2.5".

I've thought of a few ways to cut this but the 8" height introduces challenges I'm not sure how best to handle.

Here are my(bad?) ideas..

1. Cover a 4x4x8" post of scrap wood with hardwood(red oak) and use a 5" hole saw on a drill press to cut the full 8" depth.. but then I would still have to somehow remove that center core each time I max out the saw as well as shape the outside..

2. Create corners by bonding oak boards, then freehand the inside corners with a drum sander, (3x6" sanding drum attached to a drill press or bench grinder) and the outside corners on a belt.

3. Make the corner of several layers totaling 1/4" of walnut(I don't believe oak bends so well) steam bent then bonded on top of a stack of hardwood shaped with a jigsaw.. however, I'm thinking uniformly steam bending something 8" tall is going to be very difficult regardless how thin it is.

I'd really prefer not to have to do these in smaller sections as I don't want to see joints here..

I'm strongly leaning toward #2 right now, but before I start.. is there a better way I haven't considered?

Thanks!
-Stephen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-19-2018, 11:32 AM
The Nut in the Cellar

View Jim Frye's Photo Album My Photos