Any advice for totems? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 06-15-2015, 12:02 AM Thread Starter

View NikOoze's Photo Album My Photos
Any advice for totems?

I have fell in love with looking at totem pole carvings.

I want to figure out how to carve totems.

What kind of hand tools will I need? to begin this journey!?!

I am completely new to wood carving so any advice is welcome!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-15-2015, 06:53 AM

View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
There are a number of different tools that could be used to carve totems. I've even seen people chainsaw carving them. Myself, if I were to make one I would use woodcarving chisels. Doing it that way you would need an assortment of about 4 gouges about sweeps 8 varying from about 3/8" wide to 1 1/4" wide. A set of common carpenters chisels would be good to have too. You would need a parting tool about 3/8" wide as well. A draw knife would probably come in handy too. Finally a round mallet would be needed. Woodcarving chisels have wooden handles and a hammer would damage the handles. Anyway you need to be thinking of carving not thinking of the hammer. With a mallet it's hard to miss the chisel so you don't have to think about it.
post #3 of 7 Old 06-15-2015, 08:34 AM

View woodchux's Photo Album My Photos
Totem carving does require the "right tools", a design of characters/items you wish to create, and of course good dry wood. Depending on the final size of your totem, the carving can take many days, weeks, or perhaps a month or two. Consider going on line for more information, ideas, and perhaps available books on that craft. Keep your tools clean and sharp, and be safe.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 7 Old 06-20-2015, 12:35 PM

View Brian T.'s Photo Album My Photos
Totem poles are carved with three general purposes in mind.
1. House poles: these totems describe the clan heritage of the people living there. The pole is out front, facing the ocean.