Size Piping to Use? - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Tool Agnostic
  • 1 Post By epicfail48
  • 1 Post By DrRobert

post #1 of 12 Old 12-23-2019, 04:53 PM Thread Starter

View Brian Briggs's Photo Album My Photos
Size Piping to Use?

Newbie here and newbie to woodworking as well. I am setting up a wood workshop in the corner of our building. I have a Woodteck Dual Bag dust collector that I got off of Facebook Marketplace. It is a 3hp 115 or 230 with a 6" input. It came with a dual 4" and a triple 4" inlet adapter. The dust collector is located in the back right corner. I plan to run 4" or 6" pipe along the top of the wall along the cabinet wall and french cleat wall and a drop to the table saw. I may make it a "P" shape so I have continuous flow. I used this when I ran water and airline in my granite shop so the end of the run did not starve for air / water. My question is; Should I run 4" or 6" SDR 35 piping? I am thinking 4" will be fine but want to know from people that know more than I do about it. Thanks in advance for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	work shop.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	192.5 KB
ID:	382403  

Click image for larger version

Name:	woodteck dust collector.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	229.4 KB
ID:	382405  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 12-23-2019, 07:17 PM
Just figuring it out

View Dave Mills's Photo Album My Photos
The cfm math works out such that you should keep the largest possible pipe diameter, with the least number of bends and shortest length, for as long as you can. So the 6" pipe up until you're needing it to be 4" for the tool. Even make the turndown from the ceiling to the wall a 6" fitting, then adapt down to 4" close to the saw.
post #3 of 12 Old 12-23-2019, 07:22 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Brian! Add your location to your profile so it shows in the side panel.