Help! Dust Collector On Board Breaker Popping On Start Up!! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Jim Frye
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:15 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
Help! Dust Collector On Board Breaker Popping On Start Up!!

My dust collectorís on board circuit breaker pops at about 1/3 to 1/2 of full RPMs on start up. This does not happen every time. Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:28 PM
Moderator
 
Steve Neul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,364
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
Do you know the amperage of the breaker and wire size where you have it plugged in? If the unit is starved for electricity it can cause a lot of problems especially with electronics. A lot of times outlets in homes are wired with 14 gauge wire which isn't good for equipment.
Steve Neul is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #3 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
It is a 20amp circuit with 12 ga wire.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:44 PM
Wood machinist
 
difalkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NW Louisiana
Posts: 3,149
View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum! When you get a minute add your location to your profile so it shows in the side panel. You can add your first name to your signature line and it will show in each post, then we'll know what to call you.

What size is your DC motor? Does it turn freely by hand? Is something blocking the inlet?

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
difalkner is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to difalkner For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #5 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
It is the pop up breaker on the motor. I do not see an indication of the amps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
I have tried starting it with all gates closed, some open, and all open.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 03:58 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 25,023
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Try spinning the impeller ....

Make certain the impeller which is directly attached to the motor shaft will spin freely.



If there is an overload or extra current draw when the motor starts up, it could be a bad start capacitor..... I donno?


That motor is not a DC motor, so it should start instantly.


It's hard to fix something when it's intermittent.....

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to woodnthings For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #8 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 04:35 PM
Moderator
 
Steve Neul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,364
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
The pop up breaker on the motor is a thermal overload switch. It's function is to turn the motor off if the motor gets too hot. If everything turns free and the motor isn't getting hot my guess is it's the sensor which operates the thermal overload. This would be something internal in the motor and unless you are experienced with working on motors I would take it to a electric motor repair shop and have them check it out.
Steve Neul is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Steve Neul For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #9 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
After about 15 tries this afternoon it finally started up and ran perfectly the whole time I was shaping a bow riser!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 06:41 PM
The Nut in the Cellar
 
Jim Frye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 1,027
View Jim Frye's Photo Album My Photos
I predict that this will get worse and worse until it finally fails to start at all. I'd guess a trip to a motor service shop would be best.
samandothers likes this.

Jim Frye
I've gone out to find myself. If I return before I get back, have me wait for me.
"Sawdust is Man Glitter"
Jim Frye is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Frye For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #11 of 12 Old 03-02-2019, 09:23 PM
Dust Maker
 
samandothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 101
View samandothers's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Frye View Post
I predict that this will get worse and worse until it finally fails to start at all. I'd guess a trip to a motor service shop would be best.
Agree

To the shop! If a capacitor on the motor attempt replace!
samandothers is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to samandothers For This Useful Post:
WoodsmanWV (03-02-2019)
post #12 of 12 Old 03-05-2019, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Hedgesville, WV
Posts: 6
View WoodsmanWV's Photo Album My Photos
Thanks for everyoneís help! It seems to be working and a weak on board circuit breaker was the culprit!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WoodsmanWV is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting straight edges for edge gluing boards together jburchill Joinery 22 12-18-2018 12:09 PM
Any Ideas for Designing a Cutting Board Storage Slot in a Cabinet? Lovegasoline Design & Plans 13 06-18-2018 10:39 PM
Table saw sleds regesullivan General Woodworking Discussion 9 06-02-2018 02:49 PM
Help with Edge Grain Cutting Board - Thickness and Suspension Tool Agnostic Design & Plans 15 11-11-2017 05:20 PM
size of dc for a2o'x24 shop gmcooter Dust Collection 6 01-07-2016 04:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome