Dust separator question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By JayNy

post #1 of 11 Old 04-08-2019, 11:51 AM Thread Starter

View JayNy's Photo Album My Photos
Dust separator question

Hi, I'm new to the whole"forum" thing so bear with me here. I'm not sure if this is how I approach this question or if it had been answered before, but I'm wondering if there is a good place to put your separator. I mean closer to the collector, closer to the tool, in the middle, or if it doesn't matter at all. If there is an answer already if someone can point me in that direction or give me a good starting point I would appreciate it. Thanks in advance
-jay
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 04-08-2019, 01:01 PM
johnep

View johnep's Photo Album My Photos
Have a look at some cyclone vacuum cleaners.
johnep
post #3 of 11 Old 04-08-2019, 03:25 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Jay! Add your location to your profile so it shows in the side panel. That often helps us to help you.

Are you using a dust collector or a shop vac? How long are the runs, which tools do they service, etc.?

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 04-09-2019, 06:51 AM Thread Starter

I'm using a 1hp dust collector, I don't have it hooked up to dedicated runs with blast Gates or anything. I have a small garage that I work out of by myself so for now I am just manually moving the hose to which ever machine I'm using. Also I have a generic dust deputy on a 5 gallon bucket. I'm just not sure how I should set it up
DC - 2' hose - separator - 10' hose - tool
Or if it would be better to have
DC - 10' hose - separator - 2' hose - tool.
post #5 of 11 Old 04-09-2019, 06:56 AM Thread Starter