• 1 Post By woodnthings
  • 1 Post By CleanAir707
  • 1 Post By Scurvy

post #1 of 19 Old 08-09-2019, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
No Longer Here

View CleanAir707's Photo Album My Photos
Dust Collector Filters

Hello everyone!
I'm new to the woodworking industry and thought it would be interesting to start a conversation about dust collector filters that are used in wood shops.

What types of dust collector filters/brands do you use in your shop? I have heard of many from Grizzly to Donaldson/Torit to Environmental Filter.

What is the purpose of getting a pleated dust collector cartridge filter like the one shown below?
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 08-09-2019, 10:13 AM

View Scrappile's Photo Album My Photos
I use a Wynn Environmental pleated filter on my Harbor Freight DC. Did not do a lot of studying about it, just read several places where it was highly recommended. I know it works a whole lot better than the cloth bags that came with the DC.
GuitarPhotographer likes this.

Paul
post #3 of 19 Old 08-09-2019, 05:45 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
surface area ........

Quote:
Originally Posted by CleanAir707 View Post
Hello everyone!
I'm new to the woodworking industry and thought it would be interesting to start a conversation about dust collector filters that are used in wood shops.

What types of dust collector filters/brands do you use in your shop? I have heard of many from Grizzly to Donaldson/Torit to Environmental Filter.

What is the purpose of getting a pleated dust collector cartridge filter like the one shown below?
A pleated filter will have 100 times the surface area of a bag. The filtration of the bag is dependent on the tightness of the weave of the cloth OR the porosity of the filter material. Then the dust builds up inside the bag and restricts the air flow. When the air flow is restricted, the suction is diminished .... air in = air out, more or less.