4" tube attaching - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 10-16-2017, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Houston, TX
Posts: 249
View Rhaugle's Photo Album My Photos
4" tube attaching

I'm having zero luck getting my 4" tube onto my table saw dust pan and onto my 6" to 4" adapter.. Anyone have tips for getting these things attached?
Rhaugle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-16-2017, 11:06 PM
An experienced novice
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Grants Pass OR
Posts: 322
View GuitarPhotographer's Photo Album My Photos
What kind of 4" tubing? I used cheap spiral wire vinyl tubing and had to stretch the vinyl to fit over the 4" dust port on my saw.

I used 4" flexible metal dryer vent hose to connect the vinyl tubing to the DC and it was an easy fit.

<Chas>
I'll burn that bridge when I come to it
GuitarPhotographer is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-16-2017, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Houston, TX
Posts: 249
View Rhaugle's Photo Album My Photos
It's the clear plastic with a wire running though it
Rhaugle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 10-17-2017, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25,995
View Steve Neul's Photo Album My Photos
From the saw you might be better off making the transition to PVC with a flexible dust collector hose. Going from 6" to 4" there should be a reducer to make the transition. If you are using the thin wall pipe you may have to go to a real plumbing supplier to get the part. The box stores just sell the common stuff. You must have quite a dust collector to use a 6" pipe. The rest of us don't need anything bigger than 4".
Steve Neul is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-17-2017, 10:47 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: North Houston, TX
Posts: 249
View Rhaugle's Photo Album My Photos
I'm running through the super Dust Deputy and the vacuum outlet has a 6in diameter.. thinking now that I got one of the lines run I have to take it off anyway to mount the motor on the wall above the super Dust Deputy
Rhaugle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need tips on attaching drawer front kwiinch Trim Carpentry & Built-Ins 10 11-11-2017 06:53 AM
Attaching brace to table legs keyboard_error General Woodworking Discussion 3 06-21-2017 10:13 PM
Attaching Med Duty 2x4s to Heavy Duty Pressure Treated 4x4s Mythran Design & Plans 14 06-01-2016 01:29 AM
Attaching a vise was2ndlast General Woodworking Discussion 5 12-15-2015 07:55 AM
ensuring steel rectangle tube is flat for DIY fence mrbc General Woodworking Discussion 7 10-10-2015 01:26 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome