2HP Dust Collector - Some questions about setting up. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes

post #1 of 26 Old 05-03-2020, 11:45 PM Thread Starter

View Rency's Photo Album My Photos
Okay. I am new to this whole woodworking and especially Dust collector thing.

Picked up a shopfox 1hp DC few days ago on Craigslist. By asking a bunch of questions here caused me to realize I needed a better one. Sold it today. Tomorrow I am picking up a used 2016, Grizzly 2 HP G0548ZP polar bear series, made in Taiwan. Comes with a 1 micron canister filter which I will be selling soon. You will see why.

Some specs:
240v , 9 amp draws.
6” inlet.
12 3/4 aluminum radial fin Impeller.
1700 cfm.

I am going to build a lean to shed behind the garage and this DC is going to live there. Exhausting outside. No filter, no bag. Hence selling the Canister filter.

Going to run 6” duct with as least as possible bents and joints into the garage on the floor level.

I am a hobbyist / diy type. Just a 3/4 of the two car garage shop. Use table saw, miter saw, circular saw, belt / disc sander and router mainly. No planer.

Only the table saw and miter saw will be permanently hooked. Other tools have to be pulled out from storage and hooked as I use them.

Now my main question is whether I should use a pre separator or not .

I almost want to not use anything and just want to run the outlet into a box/bin with some crude chip separation. No filter. This will remove all the restriction and potentially increase the cfm and suction.

My impeller is aluminum, not steel. That’s why I am wondering whether I should use a pre impeller separator. Regardless I will not be using a cyclone. It will be a home made trash can separator.

What do you guys think ?

Also any other inputs and suggestions as I go into this new learning experience would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by Rency; 05-04-2020 at 12:11 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 05-04-2020, 04:49 AM
Village Idiot