would if I could - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 05-26-2009, 05:06 PM Thread Starter

View would's Photo Album My Photos
would if I could

Hello to all of you. Wow, some of the work I have seen in this introduction page almost make me ashamed to join such an elite group of craftsmen. I have been working with wood in some basic fashion since I was about 8 years old but never developed any skills like I have seen here. I am more of a rough construction sort of person, finishing details are not my forte. But I do usually get the functional part right. I am not an artist, and obviously some of you have a great talent in that area, I hope I can pick up some inspiration from your postings and also get a few good tips for my specific needs.

I am 57 now, but have the skills of a five year woodworker at best I am guessing. I am interested in building some speaker cabinets but don't want to break the bank doing it. So if there is a thread that addresses things like wood qualities that would help me understand what I should use for that purpose that you can recommend I would appreciate that. Most speaker cabinets are made of MDF but since I don't like using veneers I would prefer to use a wood that can accept a decent finish, not looking for perfection or exotic woods. My tendency is to want to pick up some old pallets and strip the oak planks from them and plane them down to see how they look. Probably they would not hold up well but I like the idea of using junk wood to make something. I figure pine is too soft to make a good dense speaker cabinet and I want to avoid plywood and its edge finishing aspects but that might be my best choice. If any of you have built your own loud speakers and have some tips please let me know. Thanks in advance for all advice and suggestions.

Steve
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-26-2009, 06:56 PM
where's my table saw?

View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Nice to have you aboard Steve.