Wooden Flute Maker Here - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 11 Old 01-12-2011, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Give me some more wood

View dreamwake's Photo Album My Photos
Cool Wooden Flute Maker Here

HI ALL! I'm from, Iowa. I'm 22, I build flutes but thats all I know how to make! so I'm not much of a wood worker but I love what I do.

I just got prototypes made, so I'm new at this, I will get pictures up but It could be like a month until I get my wood! I ordered a ton of dowels from dowels on demand.

I got into flute making cause I love music, Specifically Irish and the Band Nightwish.
I'm trying to figure out how to make my flute work with metal music lol but I've never been good at music.

My favorite wood is Zebrawood. Love that exotic look. I don't make typical flutes or keyed flutes. I have a 14 inch design and a 28 inch design which I call dreamwake flutes hence my username.

DROP TUNE THAT BASS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-12-2011, 04:44 PM
HALL OF FAMER

View Kenbo's Photo Album My Photos
Looking forward to seeing some of these flutes. They sound pretty cool.

There is a very fine line between a "hobby" and a "mental illness"
post #3 of 11 Old 01-12-2011, 05:00 PM Thread Starter
Give me some more wood

this is what I got on the way, Gabon Ebony, Tigerwood, Zebrawood, Tiger Maple, Yellow Birch, Cumaru, Aromatic Cedar, Tropical Olivewood, Hickory, and Imbuyu

I think a piece of Amboyna burl would look really cool but I don't have any of that right now.

DROP TUNE THAT BASS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 01-12-2011, 08:16 PM

View apprentice's Photo Album My Photos
welcome
Wooden flutes. Wow! Until now i thought they had to be made from some kind of metal. I think you'll be a very good addition to our club!
post #5 of 11 Old 01-12-2011, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
Give me some more wood