Wood Working Newb - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 01-03-2010, 05:40 PM Thread Starter

View Kevin Doe's Photo Album My Photos
Wood Working Newb

Hey I'm Kevin. I am pretty much new to woodworking, although I have done a few small projects. I come from a metal fabrication background so most of the concepts are pretty much universal, except wood is easier to machine/cut. I'm from Cincinnati, OH and I'm a controls engineer for a large jet engine manufacturer. I'm a car nut, and like to race (autox). Here is a pic of my car. Its a 93 RX-7 with Chevy V8 in it. Its pretty built up putting down 487 hp to the wheels.

I've been reading on this forum nonstop for the last week or so, and I hope to continue learning a lot here.

My last project was a "succulent box" I made on a tiny 10" ryobi table saw. And a 1960s Craftsman router for the dados.

Here are some pics of that.

I'm wanting to get a better table saw than the crappy ryobi one that I borrowed for this. The 12" rip capacity leaves a lot to be desired.

I'm looking to buy a table saw, (new or used) for under $500. I was looking at some of the portable ones like a Bosch 4100 or a Ridgid R4510 (TS2410), but also interested in some stationary ones, like a contractor or hybrid if the price is right.

I've found a few used ones on my local CL, but not sure if they're a good deal.

Here is one, its a Delta 34-411 for $425.
http://cincinnati.craigslist.org/tls/1528270658.html

And another craftsman one for $375.
http://lexington.craigslist.org/tls/1502197304.html

Any opinions on those?

Last edited by Kevin Doe; 01-03-2010 at 08:37 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-03-2010, 08:29 PM Thread Starter

I just read the thread about uploading pics instead of using photobucket linked pics. Sorry about that.
post #3 of 14 Old 01-03-2010, 10:34 PM
Curmudgeon in Training

View Geoguy's Photo Album My Photos