Wood putters - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 10-09-2008, 11:31 AM Thread Starter

View chuckz's Photo Album My Photos
Smile Wood putters

Hi,

My name is chuckz and I am new to this site so I hope I am doing this right. I am a retired woodworker and I am always looking for projects that I can do during the winter months in my shop. I am also a golfer, very average, but I enjoy it. I have a project in mind for this winter but my delema is that I can't find plans or specifications for it.

The project I had in mind is building my own wooden golf putter from scratch. I have some hardwoods that I can use but I need some specs before giving it a try. Such as approx. size of the putter head, weight and how and where to attach balancing wights to the head. I plan to make a hickery shaft for the putter.

So if any of you woodworkers out there have ever done anything like this, or if you know anyone who has that I can get in touch with please contact me. Thanks, Chuckz
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 10-09-2008, 04:42 PM
red
Papa Red

View red's Photo Album My Photos
I can't help you with the putter but welcome to the forum. Red

Red
post #3 of 14 Old 10-10-2008, 07:06 AM

View Shamus's Photo Album My Photos
I've not made a putter from wood but have made several over the years from metal.

A reference that might help is a company the sells golf equipment. Those site's may offer some ideas, although I don't believe they have specific sizes noted. Give "Golfsmith.com" a search.

Personally I like a heavy putter head. Gives me a better feel. I know you can buy almost any shape/size/weight putter you'd want. A custome made one would be neat, just make sure you get a cover for it as other clubs in the bag will beat the finish off in no time.