Upper New York - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-12-2013, 11:36 PM Thread Starter

View reynoldston's Photo Album My Photos
Upper New York

New to this forum. I am a amateur wood worker and have been picking away at it for the last 20+ years. My shop is too small for the number of tools I have 12X25. I have learned most of my wood working by just trial and mistakes. One of the real big things I have learned through the years is it is mush faster and less pain to take the time and work safe then going to the hospital, so safety is my number 1 thing. I live in upper NY about 20 miles east of Rochester NY in the small town of Marion. I keep my wood projects small seeing I have a small shop.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-12-2013, 11:55 PM

View Paarker's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome and I know what you mean when it comes to small shops but any place you can get away for a while is a good place.

Fill your heart with compassion, seek the jewel in every soul, share a word of kindness, and remember; the people's what it's about.
Capt. Tony Tarracino
post #3 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 02:20 AM
Making sawdust in MS

View rayking49's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 10:04 AM

View BernieL's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome from NH - Like yourself, I learned woodworking by doing it and reading books and magazines. Didn't get very far for the first 30 years (busy working and raising 4 boys etc.), but I retired 4 years ago and my woodworking skill level has climbed. Hang in there and stay safe. Small shops can be challenging, but they are cozy and easier to heat in the winter.

I built a great bench for a small shop and this coming winter, I'm going to make my bench height adjustable. It's a great bench but I have a low ceiling and have to work my taller builds laying down or on the floor - so height adjustable is calling me...