Rebuilding an airstream from scratch, looking for ideas! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 26 Old 04-12-2011, 01:07 PM Thread Starter

View timzog's Photo Album My Photos
Rebuilding an airstream from scratch, looking for ideas!

Hi,
I am an amateur woodworker with a decent garage shop and some modest experience (have built 7 or 8 original pieces and a complete kitchen and bathroom) compared to many on this site. I just bought an old airstream (a 1980 20' Caravelle) and am going to gut it and totally redesign the interior. The exterior is in great shape, but the interior has been destroyed. I've gotten some advice from folks in the airstream world, but I wondered if my fellow woodworkers might have some ideas for building an interior of an airstream. My goals are to build a lightweight, durable, versatile (storage, sitting, and sleeping), and beautiful interior. It will be set off by an aluminum backdrop since the interior walls will be polished or matte aluminum so I think it is a real opportunity to do something great. I was thinking of simple frame and panel construction for most of the interior, but want to think out of the box. We still have snow on the ground in UT so I have time to dream and sketch before it is time to start building anything. Anyway, this is a great forum so I'd appreciate any thoughts. I've posted a few sketchup images that show one idea for the basic layout, but doesn't really indicate any particular style for the woodworking. The interior dimensions are approximately 17' x7'. Typical components that will need to be built will be a kitchen cabinet with a sink and stovetop, a dinette kind of thing that converts into a bed, maybe some kids bunkbeds, and some partition walls. I'd like to build something original instead of just making it look like any other RV on the inside. I have a large supply of maple and white oak from when I lived in West Virginia so that would be my solid material of choice, but I've thought about contr