Raven - Ottawa, Ont - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 01-26-2010, 08:35 PM Thread Starter

View LadyoftheRavens's Photo Album My Photos
Raven - Ottawa, Ont

Hello everyone,

I'm Jessie ( or "Raven") From Ottawa, Ont. I've been a woodworker officially for only the last year and half. I dabbled with wood carving and chip carving before taking a formal interest in woodworking as a career after my daughter began schooling in 2008.

In august of 2009 I graduated from the local college, from the Cabinetmaker and Furniture technician program with a gpa of 3.64. Unfortunately since then I've not been able to find work doing what I love which is working with real wood.

Seems most of the shops here focus on kitchen cabinets.

I had been hoping to find a woodworker to apprentice with but after several months of searching I've decided to try and go it alone. Focusing on doll furniture for the local artisans guild and custom projects with eventual plans of designing my own furniture for a unique niche market.

So if anyone knows of a Furniture builder in the Ottawa area that would be interested in an apprentice or would consider sharing shop space let me know as I'm still looking.

I will be posting a few pictures of projects I've helped build or built myself over the last year and half.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-26-2010, 09:59 PM

View wfahey's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Raven. Sorry to hear of your struggles to land the job you want. It is probably just a matter of time before the right opportunity comes along. Having the education under your belt will be a major plus I am sure. I look forward to seeing some of your projects. The fact that your funiture would be unique and for a niche market ups the curious factor as well.

Bill
San Antonio, TX
post #3 of 6 Old 01-27-2010, 09:01 AM
Curmudgeon in Training

View Geoguy's Photo Album My Photos