rail and stile bit sets for cabinet making - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-07-2011, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
View moriartl's Photo Album My Photos
rail and stile bit sets for cabinet making

Hi, we've been trying to find a stile and rail set that will make a double bead profile on our inner rail on our cabinet doors to match others we have.......you can still find cabinets that have this feature in the stores, but we've had no luck finding a set ......does anyone have any suggestions on who we can try?
moriartl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-07-2011, 11:25 PM
Always Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 492
View bofa's Photo Album My Photos
Have you tried MLCS? They seem to have a bit of everything.
bofa is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-08-2011, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
View moriartl's Photo Album My Photos
double round with elongated step

Yep, we've tried them. Eagle has a close match item 185-1000 but it is for large items. I've sent their tech support an email as they do offer minature stile and rail sets for cabinet making.....our profile has an elongated round 3/8", and then an 1/8" round (if looking at an end view)
moriartl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 01-08-2011, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 114
View Canarywood's Photo Album My Photos
Quote:
Originally Posted by moriartl View Post
Yep, we've tried them. Eagle has a close match item 185-1000 but it is for large items. I've sent their tech support an email as they do offer minature stile and rail sets for cabinet making.....our profile has an elongated round 3/8", and then an 1/8" round (if looking at an end view)

Probably a custom made set by the manufacturer of your cabinets,and not available to the public is the reason you can't find it.
Canarywood is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-10-2011, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,289
View Texas Sawduster's Photo Album My Photos
Mulitple bits

You may have to use more than one bit to get that profile.
It's possible that they were ran in a series of different bits to produce that profile.

Tools are like guns, You can never have enough.
Where did I put that tape measure???
Texas Sawduster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recommendation for rail and stile bit set kjhart0133 Joinery 12 07-11-2010 03:20 PM
Rail and stile router bit sets Ed'sGarage General Woodworking Discussion 16 04-09-2010 09:38 PM
Rail and Stile bits daviddoria Power Tools & Machinery 8 03-11-2010 01:31 AM
Rail and Stile Bit rrbrown Tool Reviews 4 02-28-2010 01:15 AM
stile and rail bits TimPa Tool Reviews 7 02-18-2010 11:41 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome