Novice woodworker with a problem jigsaw - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 11-21-2008, 03:40 PM Thread Starter

View jpeccerillo's Photo Album My Photos
Novice woodworker with a problem jigsaw

Hey everyone. I am a novice woodworker and I recently purchased a craftsman jigsaw that got great reviews. I am using it to cut 3/4" mdf as I am trying to make radiator covers. I marked out my first cut, clamped a straightedge to the mdf so I could make a straight cut and began to cut using a woodcutting blade and a high speed setting. About six inches into the cut the blade started bending to the left and my cut went very crooked. I've since tried every possible combo of speed and blade action settings on test pieces and can't get it to cut a straight or perpendicular line. I've used jigsaws before and never had this problem. Could it be a cheap blade, bad jigsaw, cutting problems with mdf, or just my stupidity? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 11-21-2008, 03:57 PM
Nobody

View BHOFM's Photo Album My Photos
MDF is hard to cut anyway.

If the blade and base are not perfect the fence
board will just make it worse.

You really need a power hand saw and a good blade
to get good straight cuts on the stuff.

A table saw and a helper are the best way to go.

If they always go to the same side, I am sure it
is a blade alignment problem, but I don't know
how to correct it.

If all else fails, you could do it with a hand saw.
post #3 of 20 Old 11-21-2008, 04:00 PM
No Longer Here

View user4178's Photo Album My Photos