Not enough power - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 11-05-2011, 09:12 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
View Mitchman's Photo Album My Photos
Not enough power

I have had to move my shop recently to a temporary location for the next few months. The power supply there seems weak. The lights go dim when I power up some of my tools. I am thinking of buying a voltage regulator or a transformer if that would fix the problem. I don't know much about electricity and need to make sure I do the right thing. Any help here would be appreciated.

Mitch
Mitchman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-05-2011, 09:25 AM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 27,341
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
Look at it this way

You have a garden hose with one sprinkler on it, it works fine.
You add another sprinkler, then the first one only works 1/2 as good as it did. The more sprinklers you add the less well each one works. Electricity is similar.
You need to know what appliances or lights are on your circuit already before running power tools which take a lot of current generally speaking as opposed to other things like a TV or computer.
Any appliance that has a heater will take more current. Electric motors on larger power tools take a lot of current to start up then run on less. A corded electric drill will not take much current, but a table saw may take all the available current and trip the breaker. Generally speaking avoid extension cords...period.
A lighting circuit (no. 14 wire and 15 amps)will not have as much available current as an appliance circuit (no 12 wire and 20 amps). Power tools should be run on 20 amp circuits when possible.
If your lights dim, they are on the same circuit as the power tools, which is not recommended. bill

You can shut off the breaker to see what's on the circuit by plugging in a noisy appliance like a vacuum or radio turned up loud or have a helper tell you what went off. You can generally hear them vacuum from the basement if you are working alone.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)

Last edited by woodnthings; 11-05-2011 at 12:11 PM.
woodnthings is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-05-2011, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chitown cornfields
Posts: 1,110
View aardvark's Photo Album My Photos
Ya gotta trace circuits.
If lights dim, it would lead me to also believe the lights are on the power circuit.
Current code says they should be separate breakers, and in a shop area it's wise. If you blow a breaker due to a tool drawing too much juice, you don't lose lights at the same second and are left fumbling around.

Agree w/ woodnthings.

Oh, and welcome.
aardvark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 11-05-2011, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 12,393
View GeorgeC's Photo Album My Photos
Neither a transformer nor a voltage regulator will do you any good for your problem.

Follow the above advise and determine what all is on the same circuit. Then, hopefully, you can keep something turned off.

George
GeorgeC is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-07-2011, 09:59 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnK007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Downers Grove, Illinois
Posts: 1,524
View JohnK007's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Mitch! Like mentioned above, trace the circuits to the various outlets. You might be able to tweak something here and there, but I'd strongly suggest to consult with a Sparky before pulling wire or drastically changing anything.
JohnK007 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-08-2011, 09:55 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
View Wackadoo's Photo Album My Photos
Could be a bad neutral.

Put a 120v, 10A load, like a toaster or hair dryer, on the circuit under test.
For #14 copper you should have around a 5v drop in the voltage but this number depends on the wire gauge and distance back to the panel.

Or maybe you could rent Ideal's 65-165 tester.
Wackadoo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power and beauty Longknife Off Topic 1 11-09-2010 09:12 AM
Enough Power? mickit Power Tools & Machinery 8 10-18-2009 09:37 PM
power tools 101 gclark Power Tools & Machinery 13 03-19-2009 11:19 AM
Power estimate mics_54 Forestry & Milling 19 12-07-2008 12:22 PM
Power-matic AndyJ General Woodworking Discussion 4 07-14-2008 12:55 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome