Newbie to Forum Old Hand at Woodworking - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 09-13-2008, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Ole Woodworker

View BigJim's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie to Forum Old Hand at Woodworking

I just wanted to say I am new to this forum and am enjoying it a lot. I am a retired/disabled woodworker. I owned my own company for over 37 years and did just about all kinds of woodworking/building/restoring.

The last 15 years of my career we restored antique homes and I loved that work a lot. Most of the homes we restored were of the early 1800s and I felt honored to work on them. It is a completely different world from new construction and is a challenge which I loved.

Earlier in my career, we built many new homes and I really don't know how many as there were so many of them. I now just piddle around out in the shop and sling a little saw dust when I feel like it.

One thing I really like about this forum, no one seems to look down on others that don't know building or the terminology of it. Everyone seems to want to help and that is great. Thanks for allowing me to be a part of the forum.

Jim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 09-13-2008, 04:31 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Jim,
This is a pretty friendly forum. There's no reason to look down at anyone. I always admire the beginners for having the guts to try something new and not be afraid to ask how to do it.
Mike Hawkins
post #3 of 5 Old 09-13-2008, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Ole Woodworker

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawkmph View Post
Welcome Jim,
This is a pretty friendly forum. There's no reason to look down at anyone. I always admire the beginners for having the guts to try something new and not be afraid to ask how to do it.
Mike Hawkins