Newbie forum member - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Raneman65
  • 1 Post By Raneman65

post #1 of 7 Old 01-22-2020, 10:36 AM Thread Starter

View Raneman65's Photo Album My Photos
Newbie forum member

Hello from Texas folks. New to this forum. I've been perusing this forum for a while now, absorbing everyone's knowledge. So, i figured i'd finally register and contribute.

I would say i am an intermediate woodworker, but just barely. I have always had a love of woodwork and have many fond memories of playing around in my Grandfather's garage with some of his tools as a very young boy. He had a chest full of family heirloom tools passed down from a great, great (some count) relative that was actually a wainwright by trade. Or so I have been told. I have recently received what was left of that chest, but unfortunately it had been left in a barn and both the chest and a good number of the tools inside were ruined or in very bad shape. I am working on restoration of those that are salvageable and am finding some real gems in there, not the least of which is my relatives handmade wooden mallet. I have cleaned that one up and restored it pretty well if I do say so myself. I'll have to get some pics and post them. Not that it's all that spectacular, but it's sure special to me!