New woodworker. Well, sort of... - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 16 Old 08-11-2011, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
I wood if I could.

View Chaincarver Steve's Photo Album My Photos
New woodworker. Well, sort of...

Hello. My name is Steve. I am a new woodworker but far from new at working with wood. I've built quite a number of things from wood (games, magic props, electronics workbenches/counters, speaker boxes, etc...) throughout my life and I've been a whittler/woodcarver for right at 20 years now.

As far as being a "woodworker" in the traditional and popular sense, however, I consider myself very green. I haven't made any "real" cabinets (with drawers or doors) and I haven't made anything one would consider "fine furniture" or anything of that caliber. But I am getting more and more interested on woodworking now that I actually have room to do it.

I am in the process of setting up my first shop where I can actually have a functional place for my woodworking tools. I own a table saw, jointer, compound miter saw, drill press, scroll saw, band saw, lots of handheld power tools and hand tools and so on.

We've been in this house for almost a year now. A wall is in the process of being built in our 3 1/2 car garage to define my work area and to keep my wife's car free of sawdust every time I'm working on a project. I'm looking forward to the convenience of not having to shuffle things around as often to be able to work. And looking forward to the AC that is going to be installed. I'm tired of dripping sweat on the cast iron of my table saw.

Sadly, the wall construction is forcing me to set aside my mantle project (that I'm almost done building) for a couple of weeks. I've had the top part done and mounted since before Christmas last year. But I am finally almost done with the two vertical sides. They're in the finishing stage now.

I hope to become more skilled at woodworking and am glad to be here at Woodworking Talk.com