A new member from Huntington Beach - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 06-23-2009, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Old Methane Gas Cloud

View rrich's Photo Album My Photos
A new member from Huntington Beach

Introduction
I’m a retired communication network engineer. On Cin’co De May’o, 2003 the yellow (formerly red) communications giant declared their independence from me. Since then I have been going to school (Cerritos Community College) taking woodworking courses or doing woodworking in my garage shop.

Although I’ve been a “home improvement woodworker” most of my life, it is only the last 20 years or so that I have been into the general or norm of woodworking heavily. My first power saw was a new Craftsman RAS in the mid seventies. (A truly evil machine that was good for construction but little else.) In spite of the RAS, I still have all ten. A major fault of mine is being anal retentive when it comes to safety.

I have the typical power tools (Brand unimportant) and thoroughly enjoy woodworking. Most days I spend 4-6 hours in my garage shop.

Although I have built all of my shop cabinets, my true love is building Mission style furniture.

My favorites:
Oil finishes (made even more difficult by CARB) over fumed Oak usually followed by polyurethane
Mission style furniture in Oak

My other interests are watching Formula One racing and going to NASCAR races.

My general philosophy of life can be summed up as follows.

Trying to be a perfectionist and...
When a guy gets married, he becomes the most important thing in his bride’s eyes. As the children arrive, the guy is demoted in his wife’s eyes. After two children the guy is now number three. As the children grow and go off the college his wife gets a dog. As a result, the guy is now number four, behind the children (Numbers two and three.) and the dog is number one. We have all BTDT!

My religious preference and political party are…