New here, already wounded :eek: - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 20 Old 03-03-2011, 11:47 AM Thread Starter
9.5 fingers

View stinky151's Photo Album My Photos
New here, already wounded :eek:

Hello all. My name is Lincoln and I am new here to the forum. I have tinkered with little wood projects for years, but never got very serious about detail and quality. I have ventured more deeply into the craft over the last couple of months. I look forward to learning to build better, higher quality projects in time.

I am also a shade tree mechanic, and do a large amount of work on motorcycles. When I am not working on them, I spend a lot of time riding them. I am an MSF rider coach and the word "passion" is an understatement for how I feel about bikes.

I hope to be able to develop my woodworking skills in order to help me do custom work on bikes as well. I am currently designing some composite parts and plan to make wood plugs to develop my molds.

To support these addictions, along with my family, I am in the USAF. I work as a firefighter, and currently manage the E911 center for my base.

Things were going great until last night. I was building a miter saw stand and was trimming a piece of wood on the table saw. I had the fence set to 1/16 clearance from the blade, and had to raise the guard. I turned my head looking to a stick to push the wood through. As I did I let my left hand rest without thinking. My thumb hit the wood in just the wrong spot, and the top of the blade (witch was about 1/8 inch higher than what I was cutting) ran right through the middle of my thumb. I did not hit bone, and thankfully did not lose my digit. I did care the grand canyon through my thumb, and they could only stitch part of it. The rest of the tissue will just have to heal.