New Guy from Pennsylvania - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 04-25-2013, 10:00 PM Thread Starter

View BigBadBuford's Photo Album My Photos
New Guy from Pennsylvania

I've posted a few times here previously, been a lurker mostly, but decided it was time I posted an intro thread.

I'm from Lancaster County PA, a computer programmer by trade and been getting into woodworking in my spare time. Although I was interested in woodworking since I was little, it wasn't until I got my own house a few years ago and started with home improvement projects that I really got into woodworking. I started by watching This Old House and inevitably ended up watching the New Yankee Workshop since it was on next, and after watching a few episodes I decided to pick up some tools and try it for myself. Over the past few years I've been building up my tool collection and building some small projects - but its only in the past year that I've gotten a decent shop set up and tried some serious projects.

At this point I'm mostly interested in building Arts and Crafts style furniture. I've liked the style since visiting a Stickley showroom a while back - plus I have a large free supply of white oak from my father in law since the gypsy moths have been doing a number on them the past few years. Some upcoming projects are a morris chair and an arts and crafts style desk - and probably some adirondack chairs for outside if I get the time.

-John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-25-2013, 10:18 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum.
post #3 of 7 Old 04-25-2013, 10:53 PM

View GROOVY's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome , I just returned from visiting your area I missed George's Furniture, I would have liked to have visited his shop from what I saw in the window he does nice work. http://www.georgeswood.com/ and Millers Smorgasbord ever been to either?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement