Mangling wood in central PA! - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 05-02-2010, 07:11 PM Thread Starter

View beelzerob's Photo Album My Photos
Mangling wood in central PA!

I'm new to just about all aspects of this, and I can't say why woodworking really appeals...but heck, Ive started other hobbies with less reason than this, so onward!

I live in the very center of PA, between State College and Altoona, and I wish desperately there was a woodworking club around here. I fear otherwise I will simply be the product of every youtube video and DIY how-to the internet can offer...and I know that is nothing compared to about a half hour with an experienced woodworker. *sigh* Oh well.

I've got a benchtop table saw, a contractors mitre saw, a basic drill press and a Grizzly bandsaw (the only piece I can really take pride in). And assorted (power) hand tools, mostly Porter Cable.

Im just starting, so please forgive some of my dumber questions. Rest assured I've already scoured the internet for the answer before I ask it here!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 05-02-2010, 07:33 PM
Forgotten but not gone

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
You can meet other woodworkers by using forums like this. But I figure you haver a woodworking club somewhere in your area, you just have to find it. What's the largest town near you? Check with the COC, universities and community colleges almost all offer woodworking courses, or used to. I know most of the high schools have quit teaching shop class.
post #3 of 9 Old 05-02-2010, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

Naw, there can't be a woodworkers club around here, google said there wasn't!

I figured this was as good a place as any to try and find some. My nearest "big" town (only in comparison) is Altoona. State College is pretty large too, and certainly more popular.