M. Clay wants woodshop - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 12 Old 05-23-2010, 06:54 PM Thread Starter

View mclay's Photo Album My Photos
M. Clay wants woodshop

I am a teacher in New Orleans. My school is from 4th to 8th grade. The students are high risk and families are low income. I know what a woodshop did for my son in Washington State. Why aren't there woodshops in schools down South. Yet there are schools closing shops in other school around the country. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get a wood shop started in my school? Or, does anyone know schools that are closing woodshops that? I would love to communicate with these administrators. Our students in New Orleans can be taught these skills to help enhance their lives and their community. We are still rebuilding. Having a woodshop can give them something to do, since we don't have a "boy/girl's club in a city whose crime rate is high (top three in country if not first). I simply want to start a line of communication with people who believe that having these types of activities bring so much to reality for students. Today they have no earthly idea how things are made, where things come from, and how they get there.
Thanks,
Weary teacher
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 05-23-2010, 07:39 PM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
MClay I'm from St Bernard and only left after Katrina. From what I remember Orleans Parish schools were lucky to have money to keep the rain out much less any thing like a wood shop. I guess they got the schools fixed up after Katrina and if so your still fighting an uphill battle to get them to afford such a class but I think it is a good idea.

First I would say contact whoever has a say in the viability of a wood shop and offer to try and get donations and fundraisers to get the equipment and materials to get started and see if they will go for it.