Just picked up my very first RAS - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By woodnthings
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 01-19-2020, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
View Doug Henson's Photo Album My Photos
Just picked up my very first RAS

Hi there, so like most folks who pick up their first RAS I have a Sears craftsman 10" saw. Of course I am wanting to replace the blade and I am sure I am not the first one to have difficulty finding a 10" blade with a 1" Arbor. Any help with how I can hunt down such an animal would be appreciated.

Doug
Doug Henson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-19-2020, 11:19 PM
Wood machinist
 
difalkner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NW Louisiana
Posts: 3,929
View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Doug! Add your location to your profile so it shows in the side panel.

Congrats on the RAS, as well. And we do like photos so show us your shop, tools, new RAS, projects, etc. whenever you're ready.

No idea on the blade; I haven't looked for one like that.

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel and Instagram
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
difalkner is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-19-2020, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebelwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Odessa,MO
Posts: 1,347
View Rebelwork's Photo Album My Photos
1" arbor on a craftsman? You sure there shouldn't be a reducer on the craftsman?
Rebelwork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 Old 01-20-2020, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Troy Michigan USA
Posts: 1,015
View gmercer_48083's Photo Album My Photos
My craftsman 12" uses a 5/8" arbor.

Gary
gmercer_48083 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-20-2020, 12:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Lancaster, Ohio
Posts: 51
View evilboweivel's Photo Album My Photos
All the Craftsman I have been around have 5/8" blades
Forrest sells a top line premium blade and for a price will bore it out to what size you need
Model number of saw and pictures would help a lot

Good Luck
ron
evilboweivel is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-20-2020, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: NE FL
Posts: 356
View DrRobert's Photo Album My Photos
Be sure its a negative hook angle blade.


If you paint the table top red about 4" either side of the kerf that's the "NO HANDS ZONE".


What is the blade size? I wasn't aware Sears made a saw with a 1" arbor those are usually the big boys.

Robert
DrRobert is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-20-2020, 04:33 PM
where's my table saw?
 
woodnthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: SE, Michigan
Posts: 26,387
View woodnthings's Photo Album My Photos
A 1" arbor on a Craftsman 10" saw...NOPE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Henson View Post
Hi there, so like most folks who pick up their first RAS I have a Sears craftsman 10" saw. Of course I am wanting to replace the blade and I am sure I am not the first one to have difficulty finding a 10" blade with a 1" Arbor. Any help with how I can hunt down such an animal would be appreciated.

Doug

I've owned every 10" and 12" RAS that Craftsman made from the '60's to the '90's and they all had a 5/8" arbor. Only 14" to 16" saws use a 1" arbor. Measure again and see what you get, the arbor, that is, not some stray blade that came with it loose in a box.
gmercer_48083 likes this.

The answer to your question will only be as detailed and specific as the question is detailed and specific. Good questions also include a sketch or a photo that illustrates your issue. (:< D)
woodnthings is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-20-2020, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,482
View FrankC's Photo Album My Photos
Don't know if it is even possible but could have the original motor been replaced with one from the larger saws.

Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools because they have to say something -Plato

FrankC
http://sawdustmaking.com
http://woodworkerglossary.com
FrankC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome