Intro from Oregon - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 07-18-2011, 01:27 PM Thread Starter

View mrtr33's Photo Album My Photos
Intro from Oregon

Greetings.

My name is Mark, I live in Oregon now, but grew up in Louisiana. I've been dabbling in woodworking for about 5-6 years now, mostly building 2x4 furniture, frames, etc., but every once in a while I'll tackle a bigger project. I've made a couple of beds, tables, spice racks, etc. I also like to carve spoons out of scrap exotic woods - that's probably my "signature" piece, and one I've done fairly often.

After poking around the site, I've realized that I have absolutely nothing to offer anyone here - yall's work is beautiful, and I'm a definite novice. But I've come here to learn, I understand that I know nothing, and I'm willing to listen to those more experienced than I. Thanks for your patience and willingness.

I don't have much in the way of tools, an okay selection of some okay chisels, mostly cheap or middle-of-the-road power tools, but I have a lot of patience and a lot of precision and care in my work. In my mind, that goes far enough for what I'm building. The wifey still lets me make things we put in the house. I found out about this site after researching a Ryobi SC-160 scroll saw I just picked up at a garage sale this weekend for $25. It might not do what you guys need scroll saws to do, but it works just fine for what I need it to.

I'm a software developer, and sit in front of a screen quite a bit. But I also like to bake bread, fish (I just got into fly fishing) and enjoy an occasional cigar.

Thanks again.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-18-2011, 01:39 PM
Scotty D

View mdntrdr's Photo Album My Photos

Scott
OH, wait a minute ............Yep!.............That's what he said!

"Like" us on facebook
www.ScottyDsWoodworks.com
Watch Our YouTube Video
post #3 of 14 Old 07-18-2011, 02:12 PM

View Paul W Gillespie's Photo Album My Photos