I'm a central PA Basement Slug - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-08-2010, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

View SteveEl's Photo Album My Photos
I'm a central PA Basement Slug

Hi Folks,

I've been a amateur sledgehammer carpenter for a long time, building ugly but functional things from garbage, mostly. I got the bug for trying "pretty" about the same time my only child arrived a couple years ago, and now that she's a little more self sustaining there's finally some time to spend in the shop again.

"Shop" right now means a basement of a home in central PA. The home needs a lot of work, and first on the list is repairing the framing problems of the first floor, so the "shop" is a jungle of jack posts, things that don't yet have homes, and the tools and bench for my current project, which is to make a dust barrier system similar to the zipwall. (I have more time than money at the moment.) The fun part of this job is to design and build the drilling jigs and glue up jig.

More about that, with pics, if it works.

SteveEl
CentralPABasementSlug
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-08-2010, 10:42 PM

View sanchez's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Steve!

I recently drove through Amish country (Intercourse, LOL!!) on my way back from a East Coast Trip. Lot of nice land out there!
post #3 of 9 Old 09-09-2010, 01:12 AM

View beelzerob's Photo Album My Photos
Where ya at, Steve? I'm about in between Altoona and State College. Go Nittany Lions!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 09-09-2010, 07:50 AM Thread Starter

Did you lay over there S? If you pass through Colorado, be sure to visit Climax.

What sort of work do you do in your shop, Rob?

SteveEl
Central PA Basement Slug

PS..... Time out for a Public Service Announcement: