I should have introduced myself - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 08-16-2011, 01:42 PM Thread Starter

View Marti's Photo Album My Photos
I should have introduced myself

When I first posted on this forum, I thought it would be a one-time thing, but I've found I keep coming back to read everyday even if I don't post.

I have been a high school English teacher (don't worry, I'm not the grammar police), an oil & gas landman (just a term guys), and a title researcher. Hubby & I built one house from the ground up and we've remodeled others. I've laid tile, shingled roofs, done drywall, and insulated. I'd like to learn to lay brick next.

I married into the woodworking world, and it was love at first sight. My father-in-law started as framer, then trim carpenter, then cabinets, and was building houses by the time I married Hubby. Even as GC, he did most of the work that involved wood. Hubby was his helper (often unwilling helper) from the time he could pick up nails, and while he knows how to build just about anything, his heart isn't always in it. On the other hand, I love the smell, the sounds, and the creation in a woodshop. On trips to their house, I'd rather be out in the shop building something with father-in-law than in the kitchen cooking with mother-in-law.