Howdy - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 5 Old 11-15-2007, 04:08 AM Thread Starter

View kwhit190211's Photo Album My Photos
Howdy

I'm new to this here site. Just joined up, so I am saying my howdy's to all the wood workers here.
I guess I have to say a bit about myself. Ok. I am a retired Pipefitter, I retired officiality 2 yrs ago. My body finally gave out. Being a pipefitter for 38 yrs is a body killer.
I started working with wood when I was 5, I helped my Dad with the home improvements of our house. So, I learned at a young age to appreciate working with wood.
I have also been collecting tools from about that time in my life as well. I'm to the point now, when I go to a place that sells tools I no longer drool over them, because I have almost all of them. I need a lathe but I also need the space where I can use it. I ran out of room in my shop long ago.
I have a small shop attached to my house, its 11' by 25'. But, in it I have a miter saw set up in line with a thickness planer. I have a 20' bed for these 2 items. I also have a jointer, 10" contractor's table saw, 14" bandsaw & a shaper. Plus, God knows how many power tools.
I am always working on a project of some type.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-15-2007, 06:14 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Howdy back. I was a pipefitter, until 2001 I worked out of L.U. 65, still got my book. My Dad just retired after 42 years as a steamfitter/welder out of the same hall, his Dad was a steamfitter too.
I was a fitter/welder/licensed plumber, now I am a wood guy (whatever that means)
What is it with retired fitters and woodworking ? That is what Dad and all his buddies do. 1/2 the time my sawmill shed is like the old jobsites I used to work on...a bunch of fitters standing around drinking coffee and telling lies.
post #3 of 5 Old 11-24-2007, 08:27 AM

View woodman42's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome.

Did you say tool sale?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement