Hollow chisel mortising question - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 8 Old 07-26-2009, 03:01 AM Thread Starter

View gooball13's Photo Album My Photos
Hollow chisel mortising question

Greetings from Colorado,

My name is Bill and I am an amateur woodworker/hobbyist - at it for about 15 years (I am almost 50 now). This is my first post and I need some advice. I am building a set of six Harvey Ellis style dining room chairs out of quarter-sawn white oak. I have some very nice black ebony that I plan on using for a detail on each chair. Up at the top end on the front of the rear chair legs I want to put four 3/8" square holes (about 1/4" deep) and glue 3/8" ebony squares in the holes. I have a Delta hollow chisel mortising machine but when I drill out the squares, there is a small but noticeable round cut on a couple of the faces of each square that is slightly outside of the square. I could use some advice on how to deal with this problem - I could go in afterwards with a chisel and enlarge the hole a little bit but I want consistency; the cost of ebony is quite expensive (as well as all the time invested already in shaping the legs) so I really don't want to screw these up. I am also trying to do as much as I can by using machines and jigs to keep this project moving ahead in a timely manner. I would enjoy hearing any ideas on the topic if anybody has had a similar experience. Thanks in advance for your help - Bill
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-26-2009, 03:35 AM

View nzgeordie's Photo Album My Photos