Hi, New to woodwork, and need help. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 12:37 PM Thread Starter

View Gangsta's Photo Album My Photos
Hi, New to woodwork, and need help.

Hi

My name is Graham, and I have very little experience working with wood.

I want to make a wooden clock from my parents Christmas this year, and as my parents know that I am useless with wood - it will mean a lot to them.

The clock is to have 3 wooden towers, on blocks - which will indicate the time Hrs, Mins, and Secs respectivly.

The towers need to be hollow, and I will need to be able to put the clock components into them, and thats where i am struggling.

I have attached a picture, I want to inlay some simple decoration (the 2 vertical stripes on each tower)

How can i open up the towers to put the parts in, then join them again neatly, as I want to laquer the entire clock - but cannot sand over the clock parts.

I was thinking of an OAK/CHERRY combination, but would welcome ideas that you think would be better.

Thanks in Advance

Graham
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ClockA.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	23.1 KB
ID:	3989  

Name:	ClockB.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	3990  

Last edited by Gangsta; 06-26-2008 at 12:39 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 12:59 PM

Location: Amidst of 1000 acers of crawfish ponds under a 500 year old Oak grove. SW La
View Handyman's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to Handyman
You could use PVC pipe for the towers. Easy to mill and can be gelstained to match wood. I am sure someone will have a better idea for you if you can wait a few more days. Welcome to the thread.

Collector of Old Tools
Fixer of all things broke
Expert = Drip under pressure
post #3 of 22 Old 06-26-2008, 02:16 PM Thread Starter

Hi Handyman,

Thanks for the welcome.

I would really like to make this from wood if at all possible.