Hi from Austin, TX. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 09-05-2011, 12:07 AM Thread Starter

View Sharptooth's Photo Album My Photos
Hi from Austin, TX.

Hey guys, my name is Nick and I just started getting into woodworking. I've been browsing this site for a month now and I figured I should introduce myself. I work as a software developer at National Instruments and I've decided to pick up woodworking as a side hobby.

So far I've only bought a dozuki saw and some chisels and have been playing with making dove tail and mortise and tenon joints. Right now I'm going for a low cost of entry, which makes it interesting trying to figure out how to stabilize the wood I'm working on when I only have a plastic folding table and some small clamps. As you can see from the pictures you learn how to make do.

I've since found a heavier wooden table that I can use as a bench and I've picked up some better clamps as well as a router that was on sale at Woodcraft last week. Now I'm just waiting on the router bits that I ordered to come in so I can work on some saw horses that I plan on making. While I'm waiting for those, I've been working on my first real project which is making a hammer out of maple. I'll try to post pictures as I go through it.

Thanks for stopping by,
Nick
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2829.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	28401  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-05-2011, 01:01 AM

View Corbin3388's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome!!! I will have to look you up next time wifey and I fly into Austin. There is no place like the salt lick.

Sent from my iPhone using Wood Forum
post #3 of 9 Old 09-05-2011, 03:15 AM
No Longer Here

View rrbrown's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the Forum Nick!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 09-05-2011, 05:33 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
post #5 of 9 Old 09-05-2011, 01:08 PM
Scotty D