2Likes
  • 1 Post By MeasureThrice
  • 1 Post By MeasureThrice

post #1 of 6 Old 08-02-2018, 01:18 PM Thread Starter
...then measure again

View MeasureThrice's Photo Album My Photos
Hey y'all

Hello,

Recently stumbled upon this forum while doing research on woodworking, and found many useful tidbits of information so I thought it would be worthwhile to join in order to participate in conversations and ask questions directly.

About me, I have done some work in the past building basic objects (dining table being most advanced) out of construction-grade lumber, none of which were built "properly" (i.e. nails and screws about every three inches - because more is stronger, right?). But recently took some classes at a local woodshop to learn some actual skills, and am in the process of setting up a small shop in the garage to do a lot of various home projects.

Other than my newfound fascination/appreciation for woodwork, I work as an animator in Los Angeles, and it feels like the rest of my free time is spent walking my dog and playing video games.
Toolman50 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-03-2018, 02:11 PM

View Tool Agnostic's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to Woodworking Talk. I hope you like to post photos of your projects. I am very impressed with your animation and design talent, as displayed in your workshop designs.

I live in Orange County, not too far from you. If you are just getting started in woodworking, here are a few suggestions:

The LA Public Library system is huge, and you can request books from anywhere in the system. They are a great resource for woodworking books. They probably have more books on woodworking than you have time to read them.

Consider joining a woodworking club. The OC Woodworkers Association is a good one, but may be too far for you. The club is a well of experienced woodworkers, people who have been doing it all their lives. They are also a great source for used woodworking tools.