Hello from TX - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 6 Old 07-05-2020, 08:28 PM Thread Starter

View EastTXFamilyFarm's Photo Album My Photos
Hello from TX

Hey everyone!

Just a novice here hoping to learn from everyone! I’m a 31 year old English teacher and am setting up a 16 acre farm with the rest of my family, so my projects will range from building gardens and coops to smaller, fun builds like toys and furniture. I’m currently building 2 toy barns for my son so I can get some practice. I’m mostly using a Ridgid portable table saw, but I would like to try working with some hand tools in the future.

Glad to learn from everyone!

- Daniel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-05-2020, 10:27 PM
Wood machinist

View difalkner's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum, Daniel, from a few miles east of you!

We do like photos so show us your shop, tools, projects, etc. whenever you're ready. What sort of woodworking are you planning or doing along with those toy barns?

David

David

Curly Wood Shop on Etsy
David Falkner - Woodworking YouTube channel and Instagram
Our music at church - current videos Airline Baptist BC Facebook Live
Romans 3:23
post #3 of 6 Old 07-06-2020, 11:14 AM

View WesTex's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum from an old English Major grad in Nolan Co. in west central Texas.

Youíll find a lot of woodworking knowledge here.

Since you are interested in getting into hand tools, you might check out Homestead Heritage in Waco. I took their weeklong introductory hand tool class a few years ago, learned a lot, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

A side benefit was that Lie-Nielsen offers students a 10% discount on all their tools. Iím not an associate, just a satisfied customer.

Again, welcome!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 07-06-2020, 07:33 PM Thread Starter

View EastTXFamilyFarm's Photo Album My Photos