Hello from Texas - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 13 Old 12-13-2008, 10:52 AM Thread Starter
BBQ Master & Competitor

View mjdtexan's Photo Album My Photos
Hello from Texas

Hi, I am new to woodworking and new to this forum. I have something specific that I want to build and cannot find any detailed information on it so I figured a woodworking forum would be a good place to start. My father and I have been giving the go ahead to get some good wood working tools for Christmas and we are ready to get started. I will probably read post and look at yalls pictures for a while before I start asking questions. Have a good day.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 12-13-2008, 11:29 AM
Forgotten but not gone

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Tex,

Glad you and Pa got the okay from the bosses to get some toys, I mean tools.

When you start putting your shop together, don't just start buying tools at random. First thing you should do, is something most guys never think of.

1) Ask yourselves what types of woodworking you will be doing most. It can evolve and usually does but it's an important first step. For example, if you know you want to build mostly cabinets at first, then you know you will need . . . . LOTS OF CLAMPS. You thought I was going to say a table saw didn't you?

I am, but it's obvious so I thought I'd make tyou aware of an expense most guys don't figure in to the budget. Clamps are expensive, and I keep an eye our on craigslist frequently and snatch up good deals when I can. The goal is to have 1000 clamps of various sizes and flavors. One hundred will suffice though. That's everything from spring clamps to bar clamps and ratchet clamps etc.