Hello from SW Washington - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 7 Old 04-29-2009, 01:44 PM Thread Starter

View PCrosby's Photo Album My Photos
Smile Hello from SW Washington

New to the forum, been woodworking in my dadís footsteps for quite some time. Now I am trying to improve what I make. I purchased a set of cupboards for my study because I was in a hurry to get them up. It was a four thousand dollar lesson on what not to buy. Now I am starting my own set and taking the others down for scrap along with the base units. My shop is still coming together but it will wait until I have some projects for the house done first. I bought a new Powermatic table saw and searched Craigís list for many more pieces. I built an out feed table that will double as an assembly table. Now I will ease out to the shop and get going. I drew up a set of plans but they always seem to change as I go. I have never built a corner unit before so it will be interesting. I was a little apprehensive to start cutting panels until I thought about using any mistakes in the shop for storage. Now I am once again fired up and ready to get started. I love the saw and jumped ahead to practice making doors with the shaper.
I have been looking for places to buy my face boards. Somehow Home Depot does not seem like the best place but it gives me a reference to start with. Once the rain stops I head to Portland Oregon to see what is available.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-30-2009, 12:14 AM

View RussBoyd's Photo Album My Photos
welcome

Does the rain ever stop there....or in Portland for that matter? I'm from Spokane and thought I'd say hi. I also have a powermatic and love it. Also built an assembly table that is my outfeed. Works great doesn't it? Welcome to the forum. Russ
post #3 of 7 Old 05-03-2009, 12:52 AM

View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome from the desert