Hello from Southern Calif. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 4 Old 03-25-2009, 09:31 PM Thread Starter

View Sleeper's Photo Album My Photos
Hello from Southern Calif.

Hi everyone, I don’t know why I didn’t see this introduction section earlier. I was searching Google and stumbled upon this site. When I’m working on something I tend to get tunnel vision and miss stuff.
I’m almost 60 and I’m currently a Power Systems Technician by profession. I was an apprentice carpenter before Vietnam but decided to take advantage of the GI Bill when I got out of the Army and went to college. I’ve been dabbling in woodworking all my life, well since I discovered my dad’s complete workshop in our basement at 7yrs old.
My 1st project was a plywood jeep that I made while my dad was at work. I nearly cut my thumb off on his band saw and in my haste to conceal my injury, I left a big mess scattered all over the floor which my dad could not miss. My dad had a fit because I used some expensive plywood that he bought for a customer, but said my jeep looked pretty good. Well it was supposed to be a racecar, but after he said it was a jeep, I decided that was what it was. I never told him about the thumb.
My shop is mostly on wheels and consists of a Table Saw, Band Saw, Belt/Disc Sander, Router Table, Mitersaw and a Drill Press that doubles as a Mortiser. I had a 12” Radial Saw and a 6” Jointer but had to sell them many years ago during rough times. I have to wheel everything outside when I want to build something, so I don't do much during the winter except maybe at Christmas.

Last edited by Sleeper; 03-25-2009 at 09:41 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 03-25-2009, 09:52 PM

View firehawkmph's Photo Album My Photos
Sleeper,