Hello from Pa - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 9 Old 02-09-2012, 10:09 PM Thread Starter

View willys's Photo Album My Photos
Hello from Pa

I'm a carpenter by trade, mostly commercial work. I have found that forum boards are one of the best ways to gather information. The members that use them are usually passionate about thier hobby or carear and have access to great knowledge.

I came to this site for an odd reason. My family races in Soapbox Derby. In the past the cars floorboard was allowed to be finished with Tung oil only. Then the rules changed and tung oil was no longer allowed. The rules have changed again and tung oil is once again allowed.

My question is this. What should I do to a new floarboard, with no finish on it at all, to prepare it to be finished with tung oil. I want the board to absorb as much as possible. The more it absorbs the heavier it gets, the better for racing. The wood is a soft fast growth wood. Not sure what type. It's like a butcher block with 1" wide strips finger joined and glued together.

Do I wet the board? Heat it? Thin the first coat?

If this should be in a different section I apologize.

Thank you,
Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 08:00 AM

View TimPa's Photo Album My Photos
welcome to the forum. I personally don't know of a method to allow greater fluid absorption, tung oil appears to absorb so much then stop. I doubt if it coud absorb enough to make a considerable difference in weight that could not be added elsewhere (allowed). if not allowed, maybe look for a baseboard wood species with a higher density (wt/volume)
post #3 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 08:03 AM
Making sawdust in MS

View rayking49's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the forum.

Sent from my iPhone using Wood Forum
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 08:34 AM
Old School

View cabinetman's Photo Album My Photos
post #5 of 9 Old 02-10-2012, 10:11 PM

View scootch's Photo Album My Photos