Hello from a Newbie in Tokyo - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 14 Old 12-25-2007, 02:49 AM Thread Starter

View TokyoDave's Photo Album My Photos
Post Hello from a Newbie in Tokyo

Hi! I found this site on a DIY search and it looks interesting!

I'm an American, born and grew up in Salt Lake City, and I've lived in Japan for 18 years.

Other than some shop projects back yeeeeeears and years ago, I have no experience, but that doesn't stop me from wanting to start now.

We're going to be moving to a new house in June, and I want to make some custom furniture, so I figure I've got a half a year to learn something!

Anyway, I hope everyone is having a good Christmas and Holiday seasons. I'm looking forward to asking more questions as I go along.

Dave
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 12-25-2007, 06:56 AM

View Daren's Photo Album My Photos
Hi Dave, ask away. I have always liked Japanese architecture and their interesting joinery techniques. Visit often, post pictures if you can.
post #3 of 14 Old 12-25-2007, 07:30 AM

View Ken Johnson's Photo Album My Photos
Konnichiwa Dave. Welcome to the group.

Ken

"What we hope ever to do with ease, we must first learn to do with diligence".
- Samuel Johnson
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 12-26-2007, 10:22 AM

View woodman42's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome to the site Dave!
Jump right in.

Did you say tool sale?
post #5 of 14 Old 12-26-2007, 10:47 AM
Forgotten but not gone

View TexasTimbers's Photo Album My Photos
Welcome Dave.

I lived there 3 years (68 - 70). It's changed alot since then.
post #6 of 14 Old 12-27-2007, 12:32 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasTimbers View Post
Welcome Dave.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasTimbers View Post

I lived there 3 years (68 - 70). It's changed alot since then.