Woodworking Talk banner

Hello from eastern shore MD

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Texas Sawduster 
#1 ·
Well I found the app for my iPhone for this forum and read a bunch of great advice and figured I'd join. I was a wood door carpenter for 5 years so I know how to drill a mean hole and route a hinge or two lol. I am a certified history teacher but still looking for a teaching job. So I am still building my tool base. I have some battery powered tools and a hand held router and this Christmas I got a skil scroll saw and a two pattern books for some pretty cool projects that I am going to start attempting as soon as I build a bench for my saw. I attached a picture (it's not too great a shot) of my first scroll saw project. This was the first time I have used a scroll saw in over 15 years. It turned out ok for some cheap plywood. I am going to order some Baltic birch and see what I can create.

Any advice on a cheap work table for a scroll saw? I will build a bench later once I can get some more funds just want to make a table for the scroll saw so I can get started.
Looking forward to learning from all of you. Hopefully I will be able to share more pictures soon.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Hi Andy, welcome to the forum. That's a great looking ornament and definitely a keepsake. Even more impressive considering it's your first try in 15 years! As far as scroll saw stands, I would think it not too difficult to cobble up a triangular-type stand based something like what Dewalt offers with their scroll saw. My Delta came with a stand that looks like this