Hello From Anne Arundel County, MD. - Woodworking Talk - Woodworkers Forum

post #1 of 15 Old 07-14-2011, 12:14 PM Thread Starter

View Paul W Gillespie's Photo Album My Photos
Hello From Anne Arundel County, MD.

Let me start by saying great forum you have here. Everyone has been awesome and it really has helped me with some of the basics on aquiring equipment for my new shop.

My name is Paul W Gillespie and I am a newspaper photographer living in Anne Arundel County, MD the last 10 years. I am originally from southern NJ. Going to high school in the mid 80's there were many shop classes to take and I took them all. I hate to say that I did not take full advantage of them at the time, using them mostly to coast to passing grades. It is terrible taht they have stripped most shop classes from high schools these days.

I grew up watching This Old House and then Norm and his New Yankee Workshop and I always thought that it was cool being able to make that great furniture out of wood. I always wanted a wood shop of my own. Having gone through my 20's and 30's I did not have the ability to even think about creating one.

Having hit my early 40's, with a somewhat stable career and a very understanding wife, I decided to clear some space in the basement and put in a small shop. I was just sick of wasting time on facebook and the net, this site is the exception, and figured I would rather spend time creating something. Now whether it is just sawdust or decent furniture remains to be seen.

My shop will be a small one at about 14'x20'', about a third of my basement, with room to spread out if I need some temp extra space. If I really get into it, I can take out the home gym and expand to about 26'x24'.